Frankoy D.A. | Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke
4822

Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke / Case Study

Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke

Starting Point: A new film festival is born in Sherbrooke (QC). Its promoters manage the popular Festival des traditions du monde de Sherbrooke (QC) since its creation. Based on a similar accessible and lively multicultural concept, they have developed an international quality film program.

 

Challenges

Identity: What personality should be given to this festival for it to stand out of the multitude of film festivals? How can the essence of the brand influence the event programming and design to turn it into a success?

Name: The name should reflect international quality programs. Can we create an alternative to the « International Film Festival » formulation to find a phrasing with its own personality?

Image: The classic cinema symbols tend to lose their effectiveness and accuracy with time. How can we get out of this trap and project a unique and memorable image in the world of film festivals? What trophy could strengthen and empower the branding process and final identity?

Solutions

Identity: A promise is made, « Movies you’ll love ». A popular event is coming out. Its meticulous annual selection of popular international films will combine real entertainment to the discovery of the « other culture and cinema ». A simple, popular and multicultural identity ensures a strong presence.

Name: It clearly defines the mission of the festival while leaving consecrated name formulas out. The name make the event stand out. It also forms a family of unified brands with its predecessor, the Festival des traditions du monde de Sherbrooke and the management company, Festivals du Monde.

Image: A unifying symbol of multifaceted cinema aspects is presented in its purest form : the Circle. Reel, projector, focal point, also a symbol of the planet, unity and vision, this strong unifying symbol is reinforced by its purity. A white logo on black evokes the projection light in movie theaters.

Frankoy D.A. | Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke
4537

Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke / Étude de cas

Festival cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke

Point de départ : Un nouveau festival de film voit le jour à Sherbrooke. Une programmation internationale de qualité souhaite en faire un événement accessible et animé comme le Festival des traditions du monde de Sherbrooke que ses promoteurs animent depuis ses débuts.

 

Défis

Identité : Quelle personnalité donner à ce festival pour qu’il se démarque dans la multitude des festivals de films ? De quelle façon l’essence de la marque influence-t-elle la programmation et la conception de l’événement pour en faire un événement à succès ?

Nom : Le nom doit refléter une programmation internationale de qualité. Peut-on créer une alternative à la formulation « Festival international de films de » pour distinguer une personnalité propre ?

Image : Les symboles usés du monde du cinéma ont tendance à perdre de leur efficacité et de leur actualité. Comment en sortir pour s’affirmer de manière unique et mémorable dans le milieu des festivals de films ? Avec cette nouvelle marque, quel trophée pourrait appuyer cet objectif?

Solutions

Identité : La promesse est faite : « des films que vous allez aimer ». Un évènement populaire s’annonce. Une sélection annuelle méticuleuse de films  internationaux alliera un vrai divertissement à la découverte de la culture et de l’art cinématographique de « l’autre ». Une identité simple, populaire et multiculturelle assure une présence forte.

Nom : Parce qu’il détermine clairement la mission du festival tout en sortant des formules consacrées, le nom démarque l’événement. Il forme également une famille de marques unifiée, avec son aîné, le Festival des traditions du monde de Sherbrooke et leur compagnie de gestion, Festivals du monde.

Image : Un symbole fédérateur de multiples aspects du cinéma est présenté sous sa forme la plus pure : le cercle. Bobine, projecteur, point focal et aussi symbole de la planète, de l’unité et de la vision, ce symbole rassembleur et fort s’impose dans sa pureté. Un logo moderne blanc sur noir évoque la lumière de la projection dans les salles obscures.