Frankoy D.A. | Make My Desk
4241

Make My Desk / Case Study

Make My Desk

The client is an office furniture producer. This project is a new consumer service for retailers. With this web application, users will be able to built a self-designed desk. A national sweepstake (U.S.) will be launched to promote the website to business and home workers. At this phase, the web application is called ‘Create Your Own’. The platform is already well developed.

Challenges

Name : The original name refers to a possibly exhaustive creative process. On the contrary, the idea is to offer consumers selected options to easily turn parts into the desk of their choice.

Application : Changes must adapt to the existing platform. How will it be possible to make application more dynamic and friendly without going back to the beginning?

Sweepstake : In raising product interest, how can a social media trend be started for users to design their own desk and provoke a word of mouth effect?

Solutions

Name : ‘Make My Desk’ brings the emphasis on the user experience of putting together a desk, i.e. ‘making one’ as opposed to ‘creating one’. It is a direct and easy brand to remember.

Application : An overall simplification of the user experience is emphasized. A less intrusive information gathering process is chosen. The overall application is now more visual based, hence self-explanatory. To design a simple and user-friendly desk construction application, the buttons are made easily accessible. While maintaining a common user experience, the application is now an independent and integrated solution for the numerous retailer websites.

Sweepstake : The sweepstake appeal is to give a monthly chance to win a self-designed desk. Any user who plays and designs a desk participates in the sweepstake. Sharing the sweepstake on social media will offer them more chances of winning.

Frankoy D.A. | Make My Desk
4151

Make My Desk / Étude de cas

Make My Desk

Point de départ : Le client est un fabricant de mobilier de bureau. Son projet est un nouveau service Web dédié aux consommateurs pour soutenir les détaillants. Avec cette application, les utilisateurs sont en mesure de construire un bureau eux-mêmes. On souhaite lancer un concours national (États-Unis) pour promouvoir le site Web dans les entreprises et chez les travailleurs autonomes. Au début du mandat, l’application Web s’appelait Create Your Own et la plate-forme était déjà bien avancée.

Défis

Nom : Le nom original Create Your Own réfère au processus de création qui peut parfois s’avérer exhaustif. L’idée est en fait d’offrir aux consommateurs des options préchoisies leur permettant de monter facilement le bureau de leur choix.

Application : Tout changement doit s’intégrer à la plate-forme existante. Comment est-il possible de rendre le tout plus dynamique et convivial sans refaire l’application de départ ?

Concours : En soulevant l’intérêt pour le produit, comment utiliser les médias sociaux pour donner le goût aux utilisateurs de concevoir leur propre bureau ? De plus, comment créer un engouement spontané qui provoquera un mouvement viral ?

Solutions

Nom : Make My Desk  a été choisi pour mettre l’accent sur l’expérience de « faire » un bureau plutôt que de « créer » un bureau. C’est un nom facile à retenir. De plus, la référence à la citation classique de Clint Eastwood « Make My Day » permet davantage de s’en souvenir.

Application : Une simplification globale de l’expérience utilisateur est promue. Une collecte d’information moins intrusive est préférée. L’application est maintenant plus visuelle, et elle ne nécessite plus d’explication. Pour simplifier l’expérience et la rendre plus conviviale, les boutons sont devenus facilement repérables. Tout en gardant une expérience utilisateur commune, l’application est maintenant une solution indépendante et intégrée pour les sites Web des nombreux détaillants.

Concours : L’attrait du concours est de donner une chance de gagner chaque mois un bureau. Tous les utilisateurs qui font un bureau participent automatiquement au concours. Le partage du concours sur les médias sociaux augmente les chances de gagner.